Supreme Court of Victoria 210 William Street Melbourne Victoria 3000

Melbourne Victoria 3000 DX 210608 Melbourne



W: supreme court.vic.gov. au

Media Release

SUPREME COURT PRIZE AWARDED

Thursday, 14 May 2020

The Supreme Court of Victoria congratulates the state's top law graduates and recipients of this year's Supreme Court Prize.

The Prize, which was first awarded in 1864, honours the top student at each of Victoria's eight law schools. The Court also awarded three Exhibition Prizes for the best honours thesis.

Supreme Court Prize Winners 2020:

- Jake Boudsocq, Swinburne University
- Matthew Bucki-Smith, Deakin University
- Tyrone Connell, University of Melbourne
- Antonia Glover, Monash University
- Lachlan Martin, Victoria University
- Patrick Smith, Australian Catholic University
- Emily Treeby, La Trobe University
- Peter Zorbas, RMIT

Supreme Court Exhibition Prize Winners 2020:

- Ayban Elliott-Renhard, La Trobe University
- Antonia Glover, Monash University
- Anna Wotherspoon, Monash University

Supreme Court Chief Justice Anne Ferguson, herself a former Supreme Court Prize recipient, commended the ten graduates.

"Even though we can't celebrate these achievements together, we hope that the recipients take the time to celebrate and reflect on what a significant milestone it is in a challenging and complex discipline," she said.

"The Court also acknowledges that the hard work and dedication of the students must be matched by invaluable instruction, guidance and support from their lecturers, mentors, tutors, family and friends for them to realise their success."

Chief Justice Ferguson said the Prize would set the recipients apart in their careers, regardless of whether they stayed within the legal sector or not.

"Judging by the calibre of graduates, we know the legal fraternity and the Victorian community are in good hands," she said.

Supreme Court Media Contact:

Anthea Cannon
Media Advisor
media@supcourt.vic.gov.au
0427 791 891