# IN THE SUPREME COURT OF VICTORIA AT MELBOURNE

*In the matter of the appointment of public notaries* 

#### **ORDER**

**JUDGE:** The Honourable Chief Justice Ferguson

**DATE MADE:** 25 November 2021

ORIGINATING PROCESS:

See 'other matters'.

**HOW OBTAINED:** In chambers.

**ATTENDANCE:** No attendance.

**OTHER MATTERS:** 

1. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Supreme Court is unable to hold a ceremonial sitting for the appointment of public notaries. Instead, a process has been developed for the appointment of public notaries to take place 'on the papers' by order of the Chief Justice.

### 2. This process includes:

- (a) Applicants' oaths and affirmations of office being said aloud before an authorised affidavit taker and the making of that oath or affirmation of office being recorded in Form 2-15C of the Supreme Court (Miscellaneous Civil Proceedings) Rules 2018;
- (b) Applicants entering their signature into Form 2-15C before an authorised affidavit taker and the Prothonotary extracting that signature and affixing it to the roll of public notaries; and
- (c) The Chief Justice being explicitly empowered to hear and determine applications for appointment as a public notary without an oral hearing.
- 3. The applicants listed in the Schedule have each applied for appointment as a public notary in compliance with the *Public Notaries Act 2001* and the rules of the Supreme Court.



#### THE COURT ORDERS THAT:

- 1. When the signature of each applicant listed in the Schedule is extracted from the respective Form 2-15C and affixed to the roll of public notaries by the Prothonotary, that applicant will be taken to have signed the roll of public notaries.
- 2. The applicants listed in the Schedule are appointed and enrolled as public notaries.

**DATE ENDORSED**: 25 November 2021



The Honourable Chief Justice Ferguson

## SCHEDULE

		SCHEDU
1	Ms.	Susan AHN
2	Mr.	Bruce Stanley BURDON-SMITH
3	Mr.	Malcolm Alexander CAMPBELL
4	Mr.	Vincent John CARUSO
5	Ms.	Marlene Rita EBEJER
6	Mrs.	Sushama JOHNSON
7	Ms.	Ines KALLWEIT
8	Ms.	Xin LI
9	Mr.	Joel Brady MASTERSON
10	Mr.	Boris MUTAVDZIJA
11	Mr.	Thang Manh NGUYEN
12	Ms.	Jasmine RUFFILLI
13	Mr.	John Mark SHAROBEAM
14	Ms.	Angela TORCASIO
15	Mr.	Misko VUJNOVIC
16	Ms.	Wenwen WANG

Mrs. Xin YU

17