Supreme Court of Victoria 210 William Street Melbourne Victoria 3000 DX 210608 Melbourne



W: supremecourt.vic.gov.au

Media Release

Announcement of appointment of Senior Counsel for Victoria 2017

Date: Thursday 23 November 2017

Chief Justice Anne Ferguson today announced the appointment of 23 new Senior Counsel for Victoria:

William Guy Gilbert Mark John Gibson Marcus Clarke Paul Lawrence Ehrlich Michael Wolf Wise Paul James Hayes Craig William Dowling Scott William Stuckey Michael Geoffrey Rees Gronow Garry John Fitzgerald Julian Paul McMahon AC Scott Robert Johns Suresh Raikumar Senathiraiah Minal Vohra David Joseph Nicolas Purcell Mark Anthony Irving Stephen Howard Parmenter Claire Michelle Harris Robert Andrew Heath Lisa Michelle Nichols Sally Amanda Flynn Stewart John Maiden Lisabella Gianna De Ferrari

Chief Justice Ferguson said they were chosen from 85 applicants - 69 males and 16 females applied.

"The appointees were selected after a wide ranging consultative process involving the former Chief Justice, the courts, the Victorian Bar, Law Institute of Victoria and senior members of the legal profession," Chief Justice Ferguson said.

"The new silks represent a wide cross section of advocates from most areas of practice and are leaders in their fields," she said. The successful applicants ranged in age from 40 to 67 and five women were appointed.

There will be a ceremonial sitting to welcome the new silks in the Banco Court on Thursday 30 November 2017 at 9.15am. Proceedings will be web streamed.

Media contact: Kerry O'Shea Strategic Communications Manager media @supremecourt.vic.gov.au or 0418 201 296