icon-facebook icon-instagram icon-pinterest icon-soundcloud icon-twitter icon-youtube

The judicial arm of the Court is made up four key areas.

Commercial Court

The Commercial Court was established in the Supreme Court in 2009. It is a specialist court that delivers intensive case management by judges with commercial expertise. The Commercial Court has its own dedicated registry to manage its administration.

Common Law Division

The Common Law Division deals with claims in tort or contract law and is responsible for appeals and reviewing contested decisions coming from other courts and tribunals.

Criminal Division

In the Criminal Division, the Court hears among the most serious criminal cases in Victoria, including cases of treason, murder, attempted murder and other major criminal matters.

Costs Court

The Costs Court hears and determines the assessment, settling, taxation or review of costs in the Supreme Court, County Court, Magistrates' Court and Victorian Civil and Administrative Tribunal (VCAT). It also hears costs disputes between legal practitioners and their clients.

We also handle urgent applications.