icon-facebook icon-instagram icon-pinterest icon-soundcloud icon-twitter icon-youtube

The Chief Justice today announced the appointment of 18 Senior Counsel.


Thursday, 1 October, 2020

Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Victoria Anne Ferguson today announced the appointment of 18 new Senior Counsel:

Donald James Farrands
Patrick Leo Bourke
Peter Richard Fary
Timothy John Puckey
Julianne Elizabeth Jaques
Lisa Janelle Hannon
Patrick Joseph Wheelahan
Justin Stuart Graham
Peter Harcourt Wallis
Megan Tittensor
Alistair David Pound
Paul Tasman Vout
Sandro Samy Goubran
Christopher Thomas Carr
Daniel James McInerney
Georgina Anne Coghlan
Elizabeth Helen Ruddle
Benno Matthew Ihle

Chief Justice Ferguson said the 2020 silks were chosen from 82 applicants (64 men and 18 women) after thorough consultation with the Victorian Bar, the broader profession and the judiciary.

“Our newest silks come from a wide range of backgrounds and areas of practice, and are highly regarded advocates and leaders in their fields,” the Chief Justice said. 

“The successful applicants range in age from 42 to 61 and include the appointment of
five women.”

“Being appointed senior counsel recognises each person’s skill, integrity, independence and standing in the profession.  It is the expectation of the profession and the judiciary that the new silks will provide outstanding service to the administration of justice. I warmly congratulate our newest senior counsel for 2020.”

The Court will welcome the new Silks in a virtual ceremony on Wednesday 18 November 2020 at 9.30am. Details will be announced at a later date.

Download a copy of the media release in the documents section at the bottom of this page.

Supreme Court of Victoria
Supreme Court of Victoria
Date of publication
Published on 01 October 2020