The Chief Justice today announced the appointment of 18 Senior Counsel.

Announcement of Senior Counsel for Victoria 2019

Wednesday, 23 October, 2019

Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Anne Ferguson today announced the appointment of 18 new Senior Counsel for Victoria:

Marylyn Smallwood
Ian McDonald
Garry Livermore
Patrick O’Shannessy
Matthew Harvey
Charles Shaw
Marita Foley
Jeremy Slattery
Malcolm Harding
Nicholas De Young
Dr Oren Bigos
Richard Knowles
Anne Hassan
Georgina Costello
Renee Enbom
Samuel Hay
Christopher Young
Robert Craig

Chief Justice Ferguson said the 2019 silks were chosen from 91 applicants (73 men and 18 women) after a thorough consultation process with the Victorian Bar, the broader profession and the judiciary.

“The new silks are drawn from a wide range of backgrounds and areas of practice, and are highly regarded advocates and leaders in their fields,” the Chief Justice said.

“The successful applicants range in age from 40 to 65 and include the appointment of
five women.”


In 2016 – 18 silks were chosen from 81 applicants (69 men and 12 women), including four women.

In 2017 – 23 silks were chosen from 85 applicants (69 men and 16 women), including five women.

In 2018, 25 silks were chosen from 84 applicants (66 men and 18 women), including seven women.

There will be a ceremonial sitting of the Supreme Court to welcome the new silks in the Banco Court on Tuesday, 26 November at 9.15am. The proceedings will be web streamed and available to view live and on-demand.

Download a copy of the media release in the documents section at the bottom of this page.


More Supreme Court news

Supreme Court of Victoria
Supreme Court of Victoria
Date of publication