Chief Justice Ferguson announces appointment of 23 new Senior Counsel for Victoria.

Chief Justice Anne Ferguson today announced the appointment of 23 new Senior Counsel for Victoria:

William Guy Gilbert

Mark John Gibson

Marcus Clarke

Paul Lawrence Ehrlich

Michael Wolf Wise

Paul James Hayes

Craig William Dowling

Scott William Stuckey

Michael Geoffrey Rees Gronow

Garry John Fitzgerald

Julian Paul McMahon AC

Scott Robert Johns

Suresh Rajkumar Senathirajah

Minal Vohra

David Joseph Nicolas Purcell

Mark Anthony Irving

Stephen Howard Parmenter

Claire Michelle Harris

Robert Andrew Heath

Lisa Michelle Nichols

Sally Amanda Flynn

Stewart John Maiden

Lisabella Gianna De Ferrari

Chief Justice Ferguson said they were chosen from 85 applicants - 69 males and 16 females applied.

“The appointees were selected after a wide ranging consultative process involving the former Chief Justice, the courts, the Victorian Bar, Law Institute of Victoria and senior members of the legal profession,” Chief Justice Ferguson said.

“The new silks represent a wide cross section of advocates from most areas of practice and are leaders in their fields,” she said. The successful applicants ranged in age from 40 to 67 and five women were appointed.

There will be a ceremonial sitting to welcome the new silks in the Banco Court on Thursday 30 November 2017 at 9.15am

Supreme Court of Victoria
Supreme Court of Victoria
Date of publication