The Court is in the process of upgrading its technology infrastructure to provide an improved service to its users.

As a result, a major network outage is scheduled to occur from 5pm on 22 December 2017 to 8am on 2 January 2018.

All Court registries will remain open as usual between this period (excepting public holidays), however additional time may be needed to process transactions and some services will be unavailable.

Details of registry services and limitations are outlined below.

Criminal Registry, Level 1, 436 Lonsdale Street, Melbourne

Available: In person filing.

Unavailable: Electronic filings.

Note: Parties seeking to file urgent applications, including for bail, should liaise with the Senior Legal Officer on 03 9603 6221.

We apologise for the inconvenience caused and appreciate your patience while the works are completed.

The Criminal Division of the Supreme Court of Victoria hears trials, pleas and applications in serious criminal matters such as murder, manslaughter, attempted murder, treason as well as fraud, sexual offences and major drug trafficking offences.  

In a criminal trial a jury of 12 people selected at random from the community decides if an accused is guilty or not guilty based on the facts of the case. All other decisions, including any sentences to be imposed, are made by the judge alone. 

The Division's work is not confined to trials and plea hearings. Judges of the Division also hear applications under the following Acts:

  • Australian Crime Commission Act 2002 (Cth)
  • Bail Act 1977
  • Crimes (Assumed Identities) Act 2004
  • Crimes (Mental Impairment and Unfitness to be Tried) Act 1997
  • Major Crime (Investigative Powers) Act 2004
  • Serious Sex Offenders (Detention and Supervision) Act 2009
  • Surveillance Devices Act 1999
  • Terrorism (Community Protection) Act 2003
  • Witness Protection Act 1991

Regional Circuit Court sittings are an important aspect of the Criminal Division's work and provide a great opportunity for the regional community to participate in the judicial process. The Division sits in Melbourne and the regional centres of Mildura, Ballarat, Geelong, Bendigo, Sale, Shepparton and Wodonga.

Judges of the Criminal Division

The Principal Judge of the Criminal Division is the Honourable Justice Lasry. For a list of current Criminal Division Judges see the judicial organisational chart.

Relevant Practice Notes

Where matters are heard

210 William Street, Melbourne VIC 3000 (External link)