From 2 July 2018, all documents for Common Law, Commercial Court and Costs Court matters will be required to be electronically filed using the RedCrest electronic filing platform.

RedCrest is the Supreme Court of Victoria's electronic filing system currently used for judge-managed matters filed in the Commercial Court.

The CITEC platform previously used for electronic filing of Common Law, Costs Court and some Commercial Court matters will be inaccessible after 4pm on Friday 29 June 2018. It will continue to be accessible to obtain copies of previously filed documents.

Access to electronic filing in RedCrest for these matters will commence on Monday 2 July 2018.

View the new rules

Register for RedCrest (External link)

The Common Law Division manages diverse categories of cases, including:

  • claims in property, tort or contract law
  • claims relating to wills and estates
  • proceedings relating to the Court's supervisory jurisdiction over other Victorian courts, tribunals and public officials
  • claims arising out of breaches of trust or equitable obligations
  • matter arising out of breaches of employment and industrial contexts.

Judges of the division

The Common Law Division is made up of 14 judges, three associate judges and a judicial registrar. The division is led by Justice John Dixon as the Principal Judge. For a list of current Common Law Division judges see the judicial organisational chart.

Specialist lists in the division

Cases in the Division are managed in one of the following specialist lists.  Each list deals with a specific area of law and is managed by judicial officers with specialist expertise in the area. The initiating party is required to nominate an appropriate specialist list upon initiation.  Detailed information about appropriate types of proceedings for each list may be found in the list Practice Notes.